John McIvor claims top gong at VERTO awards

Newcastle’s John McIvor was yesterday crowned 2022 VERTO Employee of the Year.

Mr McIvor was selected from more than 200 employees across 40 VERTO sites (NSW, ACT and Victoria) in recognition of the hard work he has demonstrated as IT Manager for VERTO’s growing team.

VERTO Chief Executive Officer, Ron Maxwell, described Mr McIvor as an outstanding employee who provides exceptional IT support and expertise to the whole organisation.

“John has been with the organisation for eight years, and in that time, he has worked extremely hard to ensure our IT services are the best in the business,” Mr Maxwell said.

“John was instrumental in guiding VERTO as we transitioned to working from home during the pandemic. It was no small feat finding working laptops and phones for all our team members during this challenging time.

“John demonstrates VERTO’s Guiding Principles on a daily basis, and he thoroughly deserves to be recognised as VERTO’s most outstanding employee for 2022,” he said.

Mc McIvor was one of 15 winners recognised at a presentation dinner in the Blue Mountains last week. The full list of winners is below:

  • Excellence in Cross Service Support – Communications Team
  • Excellence in Innovation – Danielle Booth (Sydney)
  • Excellence in Leadership – Allannah Clarke (Wollongong)
  • Excellence in Leadership RCC – Mel Livermore (Wagga Wagga)
  • Excellence in Indigenous Outcomes – Mary Croaker and The Oberon Employment Services Team
  • Excellence in Team Performance – The VERTO Tender and AASN Teams 
  • Excellence in Team Performance RCC – Lisa Douglas (Wagga Wagga)
  • Service Star (Apprenticeship Services) – Tricia Murtagh (Sydney)
  • Service Star (Community Services) – Sharyn Semmens (Bathurst)
  • Service Star (Corporate Services) – Jon Ulbricht (Newcastle)
  • Service Star (Employment Services) - Ann Lawrence (Port Macquarie)
  • Service Star (Training Services) – Taryn Smail (Albury)
  • Employee of the Year – John McIvor (Newcastle)
  • Gary Lowe Memorial Award for Outstanding Teacher, Trainer and/or Assessor – Renae Harland (Bundaburg)
  • Graham Draffin Scholarship – Alyssa Mudford (Newcastle).