Taryn Smail shines brightly with VERTO Service Star award

Albury’s Taryn Smail was yesterday presented with the prestigious VERTO Service Star (Training Services) award for 2022.

Ms Smail was selected from more than 200 staff across 40 VERTO sites (NSW, ACT and Victoria) in recognition of the hard work and commitment she has demonstrated to the Training Services team.

VERTO Chief Executive Officer, Ron Maxwell, described Ms Smail as an outstanding team member who has stepped outside her comfort zone and performed multiple roles for the organisation over the past 12 months.

“Taryn has the ability to pivot between positionsand take on extra responsibility with minimum disruption while supporting her team and achieving excellent results for VERTO,” Mr Maxwell said.

“She has recently taken on a new challenge with the management of the CSO contract for the remainder of the year, with a heavy focus on sales.

“Taryn demonstrates VERTO’s Guiding Principles on a daily basis and thoroughly deserves to be recognised with the Service Star (Training Services) award,” Mr Maxwell said.

Ms Smail was one of 15 winners recognised at a presentation dinner in the Blue Mountains last night. The full list of winners is below:

  • Excellence in Cross Service Support – Communications Team
  • Excellence in Innovation – Danielle Booth (Sydney)
  • Excellence in Leadership – Allannah Clarke (Wollongong)
  • Excellence in Leadership RCC – Mel Livermore (Wagga Wagga)
  • Excellence in Indigenous Outcomes – Mary Croaker and The Oberon Employment Services Team
  • Excellence in Team Performance – The VERTO Tender and AASN Teams 
  • Excellence in Team Performance RCC – Lisa Douglas (Wagga Wagga)
  • Service Star (Apprenticeship Services) - Tricia Murtagh (Sydney)
  • Service Star (Community Services) - Sharyn Semmens (Bathurst)
  • Service Star (Corporate Services) - Jon Ulbricht (Newcastle)
  • Service Star (Employment Services) - Ann Lawrence (Port Macquarie)
  • Service Star (Training Services) – Taryn Smail (Albury)
  • Employee of the Year - John McIvor (Newcastle)
  • Gary Lowe Memorial Award for Outstanding Teacher, Trainer and/or Assessor - Renae Harland (Bundaberg)
  • Graham Draffin Scholarship – Alyssa Mudford (Newcastle)